The Paper Soldiers

Here are the images of an exhibition put together by a group of 30 art students at Birmingham City University. After the images is a poem written by my dear friend, Ify. She had a long look at the images before crafting the poem. She wasn’t at the exhibition, so the poem is based entirely on the emotions, thoughts and ideas the images evoked.

SONY DSC SONY DSC 

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC   SONY DSC SONY DSC  SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC   .

Ify: Make love not war

Ify: Paper, brown as dust, old as age

Ify: Crisp as light enchanting

Ify: Visions of black, hiding my sins, casting shadows concealed

Ify: Hiding their art and what else?

Ify: The edges, sharp as light, holds the truth

Ify: Of my aching heart

Ify: The flow of blood like mine, a pinprick to the depth of my eyes

Ify: Making me ask, why not?

Ify: Why not peace?

Ify: But why not war?

Ify: My war bore my art

Ify: And my art bears my peace

Ify: …..This is the end…

 

She sent me the poem via BBM, hence the conversion-like format (which I obviously kept).

One thought on “The Paper Soldiers

Leave a Reply

